Humanities Resources

Art Museums Worldwide; Museums with fine art collections and an online presence.

he Association for the Study of Literature and Environment (ASLE, pronounced "AZ-lee") is a dynamic community of teachers, writers, students, artists and environmentalists interested in the natural world and its meanings and representations in language and culture. ASLE seeks to facilitate interdisciplinary and innovative approaches to the study of nature and culture through forms such as nature writing, art, ecocritical scholarship, pedagogy, science writing, poetry, music creative writing, and film, among other forms.

The preeminent internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.

Founded in 1892, the Bibliographical Society is the senior learned society dealing with the study of the book and its history. The objectives of the Society are to promote and encourage study and research in the fields of historical, analytical, descriptive and textual bibliography, the history of printing, publishing, bookselling, bookbinding and collecting; to hold meetings at which papers are read and discussed; to print and publish a journal and books concerned with bibliography; to maintain a bibliographical library; from time to time to award a medal for services to bibliography; and to support bibliographical research by awarding grants and bursaries.

The Bibliographical Society of America's BibSite functions as a service to bibliographers by offering a means for scholars to provide public access to accumulated bibliographical research materials that may be useful to other researchers. Authors may also contribute additions and corrections to published bibliographies and other bibliographical works.

This is a bibliography of literary studies, criticism and philology. It consists of c. 5,500 text files (c. 300 Mb of text, the equivalent of 50 medium-size print volumes) listing over 300,000 items (books, book chapters, articles, films, websites, etc.), with a main focus on English-speaking authors and criticism or literary theory written in English, although there are many listings on linguistics, cultural studies, discourse analysis, and other philological subjects. It includes basic bibliographical information on several thousand authors, critical schools, literary and linguistic concepts, genres, periods, motifs, and other subjects. You may begin your search by entering keywords or a search text in the searchbox below (next to the "bibliography" bit), in order to find results within this bibliography.

The Great British Story: A People's History

The British Library website contains comprehensive information about the Library, the scope of its collections, and how to use its services. There is also a range of catalogues and digital content.

This site includes information about what we do, the This unique, searchable database contains up-to-date profiles of some of the UK and Commonwealth's most important living writers, as well as writers from these regions whom we have worked with. Included in the profiles are biographies, bibliographies, critical reviews, prize information and photographs. We have a long list of authors who are being added to the site regularly.

C19: The Society of Nineteenth-Century Americanists, is the first academic organization dedicated to nineteenth-century American literary studies. “Prospects: A New Century,” the second biennial conference of C19, took place at UC Berkeley in April 2012, continuing the work of rethinking and expanding the terms of our engagement with this period.

The Canterbury Tales Project aims to investigate the textual tradition of Geoffrey Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales to achieve a better understanding of the history of its composition and publication before 1500.

The Geoffrey Chaucer Page contains links for the following subjects: Life of Chaucer; Chronology; The Canterbury Tales; Teach Yourself Chaucer; Translations; Chaucer's Language; Middle English; Chaucer Glossary; Bibliography; Other Authors; Literary Subjects; Courtly Love; Life and Manners; Pilgrimage; Medieval Science; and Glossarial Database Concordance.

ComPile 1939-Current
ComPile is an inventory of publications in writing studies, including post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse analysis.

This collection of materials on recent postcolonial and postimperial literature in English is the latest, vastly expanded descendant of Context 34, which served as a resource for my courses (formerly English 34, now 27) at Brown University. These materials ultimately derive from Context 32, the Intermedia web that provided contextual information for English 32, "Survey of English literature from 1700 to the Present." Context 32 was begun in Spring 1985 as part of Brown University's Institute for Research in Information and Scholarship (IRIS) Intermedia project, which IBM, Apple Computers, the Annenberg/CPB Project, and other sources funded.

On this site you can read and search the full texts of more than 7,000 of Charles Darwin’s letters, and find information on 8,000 more. Available here are complete transcripts of all known letters Darwin wrote and received up to the year 1868. More are being added all the time.

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings. The UNC University Library is committed to the long-term availability of these collections and their online records. An editorial board guides development of this digital library.